HomeAbout UsBiographiesDisplay



Major Alan Dunbar is the Staff Judge Advocate with the 122d Fighter Wing, Fort Wayne, Indiana Air National Guard providing legal services for the Wing.  In his civilian life Maj Dunbar works for the Dept. of the Army as a Legal Advisor in the Office of the Staff Judge Advocate for the Joint Forces Headquarters for the Indiana National Guard. Maj Dunbar is a member of the Air National Guard Judge Advocate Council Cyber Working Group, National Guard Cyber Legal Education Working Group and is the Staff Judge Advocate for the Cyber Shield Exercise for 2018 and 2019. 

In 2001, Major Dunbar earned his Bachelor of Arts in Germanic Studies from Indiana University.  In 2007 he graduated from the Indiana University College of Law – Indianapolis, and is currently a member in good standing with the Indiana Bar Association, licensed to practice in all Indiana State Courts, the Northern and Southern Federal District Courts in Indiana, The United States Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals, the Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces and the United States Supreme Court.  Major Dunbar completed Commissioned Officer Training in 2009 in COT Class 10-01 and Judge Advocate Staff Office Course on 10 September 2010 in JASOC 10C.


2001  Bachelor of Arts, Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana 
2007  Juris Doctor – Indiana University College of Law - Indianapolis  
2009  Commissioned Officer Training, in residence 
2010  Judge Advocate Staff Officer Course, in residence   

1.         Apr 2009 – Mar 2017:  Deputy Staff Judge Advocate, 181st Intelligence Wing, Terre Haute, IN 
2.         Dec 2015 – Mar 2017: Operations Law Attorney, National Guard Bureau, Arlington, VA 
3.         Apr 2017 – Present: Staff Judge Advocate, 122d Fighter Wing, Fort Wayne, IN.   



Joint Service Commendation Medal 
Air Force Commendation Medal  
Army Commendation Medal 
Air Force Achievement Medal 
Outstanding Unit Award 
Indiana Commendation Medal




First Lieutenant 04 April 2009 
Captain 04 April 2011 
Major 01 August 2015



(Current as of August 2018)